Vina Cobos Fenlia Malbec

imageVina Cobos Fenlia Malbec 2014, $19.95

Mendoza, Argentina

First Impression:

dry, (yay! Not too sweet, after two bottles of over sweet wine I was really craving a dry wine).

Chocolate, berries & the spice.  Short finish.

Not a lot of complexity.

Once it opened…

The spice became a lot more prominent, and the complexity definitely increased. The finish also lengthened a lot.

Steve’s First Impression:

“milder than most malbec’s I’ve had, and unlike most – I don’t really taste the alcohol. ”

Me: “So, you don’t mind it?”  Steve:”No, I don’t mind it. 7/10 for a Malbec”. I was instructed to really note “for a Malbec” since Steve typically does not like Malbecs.

Advice:

Let it breath for 30 minute for the full effect, the difference is pretty significant.

My personal overall review: 6/10.

LCBO Link

Leave a comment